kdp-logo-stacked-aSome tech-savvy folks I know, hearing me gripe about restrictive word count limits, wholesale alterations by editors, rejection letters and stingy pay scales, have urged me to take advantage of the opportunity for freelance writers to self-publish their work. I finally decided to take the plunge, beginning with eight short pieces illustrated below.

In the course of my writing career, beginning in grad school, I’ve produced seminar reports, conference papers, magazine articles, essays and reviews on a variety of literary and historical topics. Most of these, after their initial  presentation, have been relegated to the virtual dustbin of my hard drive, which seems a bit of a shame. After all, these were pieces on which I did some serious work; I took pride in that work, and still do.

These first eight offerings of mine on the e-market are equivalent to mid-range to long magazine articles, ranging from 2,000 to 5,000 words, and I think they strike a nice balance. Readers interested in these topics, while they may not necessarily care to dig through a full-length book on them, might want something a little more substantive than what they might get by Googling up a Wikipedia entry. And at only 99 cents each (well, except for one at $2.99), how can you go wrong?! Click on my cover images below (as a self-publisher, I also get to be my own art director!) and check a couple of them out.

Chelcicky

MarbleFaunPseudonym

BillyBuddVitkovPuritanism81-ZMRnXW+L._SL1500_content

You say you don’t own a Kindle? Well, that’s no problem: you can can download the Kindle reading app for your PC, at no charge, by clicking on the image below. It’s a very easy installation process, and you’ll then be able to read Kindle e-books on your computer or laptop. Amazon also offers other free apps that let you read Kindle e-books on smartphones and tablets, as well as Macs.

Kindle PC

